Insomnia SUCKS   1 comment


My God, what I wouldn’t do for a full NIGHTS sleep. Three hours at a time is just WRONG but at least I don’t have it like my 9 year old. Poor kid can’t sleep at night. Well, he did for a week but I think it was because he was sick. Right now it’s 2:15AM and he’s wandering the house, again sleepless, just like me.

  When I was a child I would wander the house at night, loving the sounds of settling wood and crickets. Oftentimes my cat would stalk the house with me, looking for a nightly snack or some moonlight romp with the neighbors tom. I discovered the moonlight romps of my own when I was 14. My boyfriend would come over and we’d go out to the treehouse and talk or he would hold me after a particularly bad day with my dad.

My eyes close and I drift off for a few minutes, half an hour or, if I’m lucky a few hours before a leg jerks, pain or something else wakes me yet again. I take another pill and read a while or write before I drift off again into blessed darkness. Maybe this time I’ll sleep longer than ten minutes.

Posted February 7, 2012 by I'm taking a nap in Memoirs

One response to “Insomnia SUCKS

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Again, the like is because your voice is speaking my truth. Insomnia and pain have been my companions the entirety of my adult life. Reading through your writings, I have this surreal sense that our lives have been two different versions of one life. So many parallels with different paths and options.

    Like

Leave a Reply

