So, what do you do for a living?   15 comments


Back when I was working the streets and I’d take a day off, I’d often be asked that question by people I met and even my mothers friends and coworkers. I would say things like “I’m an entertainer” or “I’m in public service” I even told someone once that I was part of the “welcome comittee” for the Denver Arts council, specializing in customer relations. Sometimes I’d come up with off the wall shit and it always slipped from my mouth like I was telling my name. I was never asked what the job entailed.  It was strange how easily I fooled people.

When I disappeared at the age of 18, noone thought much of it. My family never called the police and filed a missing persons report. They figured I was just off finding my way in the world. It never occurred to them that I might be in trouble. I’ve never asked them why, it’s just never spoken about. I’ve not told anyone in my family about this time in my life, I was too ashamed.

Posted February 14, 2012 by I'm taking a nap in Memoirs

Tagged with , , ,

15 responses to “So, what do you do for a living?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can wait to dive into your blog. Thank you for finding me and I shall return.

    Like

  2. Your blog is a revelation. I’m so glad you stopped by mine. I’ll be back for sure.

    Like

    witnesstofoolishness
  3. Shame does make us live in isolated, secret boxes, doesn’t it?

    Like

    veronicahaunanifitzhugh
    • Yes, for a time. Thankfully, sometimes we grow and the shame turns to empowerment 🙂
      TY for stopping by dear. Hope to see you again soon.

      Like

      • Yes, one of my hopes with writing my blog is to create an empowerment in exposing things that are supposed to instill shame in me. It was my pleasure to stop by. Hope to see you again soon as well. 🙂

        Like

        veronicahaunanifitzhugh
  4. Congratulations, I nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award! 🙂

    Like

    veronicahaunanifitzhugh
  5. Congratulations! I nominated you for the 7X7 Blog Link Award. 🙂

    Like

    veronicahaunanifitzhugh
  6. Thanks for stopping by my site. I haven’t had a chance yet to read everything you’ve posted, but from what I’ve seen so far, it looks like you are very interesting! I LOVE interesting.

    Like

  7. That’s funny, in a very unfunny way. I once started the process of attempting suicide. My then husband sent me to my mom’s the next day, with all three kids, where I took a 2-hour nap. When I woke up, it was like it had never happened. Nobody ever mentioned it again. Except my pastor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

