Wow, this is turning into something big…   3 comments


Geeze, who would have thought my life would be turned upside down by this story? I can’t even come up with a fitting preview let alone anything else lol. My hubby has begun to help me by finding and creating the cover and I think he did a damn good job for his first try. I have been on the phone with four different publishers this week and they each got a couple of chapters. They are going NUTS. Good grief, you would think I’ve discovered how to turn cow shit into gold or something. It’s nice and all but I can already tell I’m going to have to get an agent or something. I have a couple of local agents lined up to interview this next week. Gotta figure out what questions to ask. I know royalties and up front costs as well as the agents cuts ect.

 

One thing good coming out of this so far. It’s gotten my mind off other things like my fibromyalgia. I’ve lost 15 pounds in a month and my breathing seems to have gotten a bit better. My boys know something exciting is going on with me and want to be all up in the middle of it so I’m not getting done the writing I should get done. I am going to have to tell them this is something they cannot help me with and I need quiet time. Hubby said I should take the laptop and go for a walk, find someplace quiet and write. I think, instead, I’m going to have to write while the boys are doing school work or sleeping.

I told my mother and aunt (her sister) last night about the book and my mother asked me if I was going to change names or just lay this all out as it happened. The names of those still living will be changed to protect the innocent. The dead can just deal with it. I know it’s probably going to piss off a few people but the ones that matter won’t be pissed. The others, like my fathers side of the family, haven’t spoken to me in over 15 years so I really don’t care what they think. As the old saying goes “Those that mind, don’t matter. Those that matter don’t mind”

Posted March 9, 2012 by I'm taking a nap in Memoirs

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “Wow, this is turning into something big…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. again….happy to be with you on this ride. If only as a blog reader. Sorry that you are not writing about how to cook the perfect scrambled egg or how to sneak vegetables into your kids food. But happy that this seems to be great therapy for you along the way.

    Like

  2. Okay, I’m going to be blunt. There are not many people I would be so purely happy for but I truly am for you! I can’t say it emphatically enough. Congratulations! I am glad you are getting an agent; I was a little worried at first that you might be taken advantage of. Stay smart. It’s YOUR story. You lived it and you survived it. You should reap the rewards. Congrats again and again!

    Like

  3. I am so sorry that you know the all-encompassing pain and disorientation of fibromyalgia. I’m glad that you are finding your voice, and the courage to speak your own language out into the world. This is important for everyone, but especially for those of us with fibromyalgia, who have had so much stolen from us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

